April - June

Staufer Medal for Dr. Wolfgang Porsche Award for Services to the Federal State of Baden-Württemberg

Stuttgart. Dr. Wolfgang Porsche, Managing Partner and Chairman of
the Supervisory Board of Porsche Automobil Holding SE and of
Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG, has been presented with the Staufer Gold Medal by the Minister of the Interior of the Federal State of Baden-
Württemberg, Heribert Rech. The presentation of this medal, which is the highest honor Baden-Würt­temberg can confer, took place yesterday evening at a reception held by the Porsche Board in the factory Ca­sino at the car manufacturer’s main works in Zuffenhausen, to mark Wolfgang Porsche’s sixty-fifth birthday.

In his congratulatory speech, Minister of the Interior Rech paid tribute to the services rendered to the State of Baden-Württemberg by Dr. Wolfgang Porsche: “At a point when other people are taking retirement, you are in full swing. And you have demonstrated over the past years what entrepreneurial services you are capable of for Porsche. We in Baden-Württemberg are proud and happy to see how Porsche has developed. The stable ownership situation certainly plays an important part in this.”

About 300 guests took up the invitation of the Porsche Board to attend the reception. As well as members of the Porsche and Piëch families, board members and works council members of Porsche AG, those present to offer their congratulations included the following public figures: Calin Popescu-Tariceanu, Prime Minister of Rumania; Dr. Wolfgang Schüssel, former Federal Chancellor of Austria; Dr. Martin Bartenstein, Austrian Federal Minister of Economics and Labor; Heribert Rech, Minister of the Interior of the State of Baden-Württemberg; Dr. Lothar Späth, former Minister President of Baden-Württemberg; Wolfgang Ischinger, former Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany  to the United Kingdom; Bengt Johansen, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Norway to Austria; Vladimir Kotenev, Ambassador of the Russian Federation to Germany; Dr. Wolfgang Schuster, Mayor of the City of Stuttgart; Dr. Dieter Hundt, President of the Confederation of German Employers’ Associations (BDA); Matthias Wissmann, President of the German Association of the Automotive Industry (VDA); Dr. Manfred Bischoff, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Daimler AG; Dr. Hermann Scholl, Chairman of the Supervisory Council of Robert Bosch GmbH; Franz Fehrenbach, Chairman of the Board of Management of Robert Bosch GmbH; Dr. Carl-Peter Forster, President of General Motors Europe; Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reitzle, Chief Executive Officer of Linde AG; Prof. Dr. Martin Winterkorn, Chairman of the Board of Management of Volkswagen AG; Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Chairman of the Board of Management of Daimler AG; Markus Schächter, Director-General of Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (ZDF).