October - December

The winner at the Porsche Awards 2008 comes from GermanyAwards for the best international commercial films by students

Stuttgart. Students were honoured last night for their contributions at
the fifth "Porsche International Competition for Young Film Makers"
at the Baden-Württemberg Film Academy in Ludwigsburg.
Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG, Stuttgart, has been the main and title sponsor of the competition since 2004.

The top prize went to "Pure Performance" by Mario Zozin from the Film Academy Baden-Württemberg, Germany. Second place has even been awarded two times by the international top-class jury of experts, to Thilo Ewers for his commercial "They Will Come To Town" and to Aleksander Bach for "I Love You", both also from the Film Academy Baden-
Württemberg. Third place went to Galed Hamed from the Netherlands Film and Television Academy, Amsterdam, with "Children". A special award went to Adrian Jäschke, Gregor Türk and Katja Wörz from the Akademie U5, Munich/Germany for the particularly original contribution "Sakromat".


Apart from the overall artistic impression, the jury also based their judgement on the interplay of idea, script, direction and camera work. All four winners received a "David" trophy and a certificate. In the spirit of the classic "Porsche 911" sports car, the top three young filmmakers also received cash prizes of EUR 3,911, EUR 2,911 and EUR 1,911. The fourth prizewinner received a flight voucher for EUR 1,000 from the co-sponsor, Germanwings. By presenting the "David" as a trophy in the form of a slingshot - in gold, silver, bronze and natural stone - Porsche aims to pass on its philosophy to the young filmmakers, namely that you can successfully hold your own as a so-called David against the Goliaths of this world if you have courage and the right tools.

"You have all impressed us with your contributions - your creative power and your technical skills. You all deserve special recognition," commented Stefan Büscher, Head of Marketing/Communications at Porsche AG, regarding the ten candidates who made the shortlist.

In all, 81 commercials were entered in the contest this year by students from film, design and art colleges in ten countries. In the preselection process for the shortlist, the jury chose the following "Top Ten":

1. "Recycle", director: Juliet Lashinsky-Revene, Columbia University, USA

2. "Sakromat", directors: Adrian Jäschke, Gregor Türk, Katja Wörz, Akademie U5, Munich, Germany

3. "The Museum", director: Austin Formato, UCLA, USA

4. "Monster", director: Scott Pickett, Australian Film Television and Radio School, Australia

5. "Pure Performance", director: Mario Zozin, Baden-Württemberg Film Academy, Germany

6. "I Love You", director: Aleksander Bach, Baden-Württemberg Film Academy, Germany

7. "They Will Come To Town", director: Thilo Ewers, Baden-Württemberg Film Academy, Germany

8. "Busballet", director: Milo Christian Mielmann, Baden-Württemberg Film Academy, Germany

9. "Stop Thinking", director: Michiel Rummens, Netherland Film and Television Academy, Netherlands

10. |"Children", director: Galed Hamed, Netherland Film and Television Academy, Netherlands


Note: Picture materials from the event are available to accredited journalists for download from the Porsche press database at http://presse.porsche.de/. The DVD with all ten film contributions can be ordered from www.shots.net.


Porsche - October - December