Dylan Pereira (L/Momo Megatron Lechner Racing)

Race report

Dylan Pereira (L/Momo Megatron Lechner Racing)
Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, round 7, Formula 1 race in Spa-Francorchamps/Belgium, Race report
Lights-to-flag victory for Dylan Pereira in Belgium’s Ardennes

Dylan Pereira (L/Momo Megatron Lechner Racing) celebrated his second victory of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup season at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium. On Sunday, the young racing driver won round seven of the international one-make cup ahead of Ayhancan Güven (TR/martinet by ALMÉRAS) and Porsche Junior Jaxon Evans (NZ/Fach Auto Tech). “As a Luxembourger, this was a home race for me. To win in front of my fans, partners and family feels fantastic. I made a slight mistake shortly before the end, but I managed to defend myself well from Ayhancan Güven,” said Pereira.

Over the entire eleven-lap race, Pereira led the field in his 485 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. After the start, the 22-year-old initially pulled clear of his pursuers. Güven took up the race alongside Pereira on the first grid row, but had to fend off Evans when the lights went out. Over the course of the race, the Turkish rookie managed to shake Evans off and shorten the gap to Pereira. Shortly before the finish, spectators in the Formula 1 grandstands were treated to some gripping action: In the final lap, Güven made several attempts to snatch the lead from Pereira. The vehicles touched, but Pereira held strong and was the first over the finish line. “My third podium result so far this season is terrific. I put a lot of pressure on Dylan Pereira towards the end, but he defended himself brilliantly and deserved to win,” said Güven.

Porsche Junior Evans was delighted with his race, with the 22-year-old climbing the podium for the first time this season at the storied Belgian racetrack. “I’m really thrilled. My start was great and I managed to beat Larry ten Voorde in the sprint to the first corner,” declared Evans. Taking the flag behind the New Zealander were Larry ten Voorde (NL/MRS GT-Racing), Florian Latorre (F/Fach Auto Tech) and Tio Ellinas (CY/Momo Megatron Lechner Racing).

A three-way fight ensued for seventh place on the 7.004-kilometre circuit. Ultimately, Jaap van Lagen (NL/martinet by ALMÉRAS) prevailed followed by the reigning Supercup champion Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing) and Porsche Junior Julien Andlauer (F/BWT Lechner Racing). “All in all it was a difficult weekend. The speed simply wasn’t there. In the race I concentrated on maintaining my position. Later, it got really intense amongst the midfielders,” stated Andlauer. Denmark’s Mikkel Pedersen (Dinamic Motorsport) rounded off the top ten finishers. In the ProAm class, Roar Lindland (pierre martinet by ALMÉRAS) secured victory for the seventh time this season. In this classification, the Norwegian beat Philipp Sager (A/Dinamic Motorsport) and Clement Mateu (F/pierre martinet by ALMÉRAS).

After round seven, the situation in the championship continues to be cutthroat. Porsche Junior Andlauer remains in the lead with 92 points, but is tied for points with his teammate Ammermüller. Both have won two rounds, but Andlauer has more second-place finishes to his credit. Third is occupied by Güven with 76 points. The youngster from Istanbul is also the best driver in the rookie classification. In the ProAm class, Lindland ranks first (120 points). For round eight of the season next week (6-8 September), the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup travels to the north of Milan. Gianmarco Quaresmini is particularly looking forward to the race at the Royal Park of Monza. The 23-year-old Italian comes from Brescia and competes for Dinamic Motorsport, which is based in the Italian provincial capital Reggio Emilia.

Spa-Francorchamps, Race 7 of 10
1. Dylan Pereira (L/Momo Megatron Lechner Racing)
2. Ayhancan Güven (TR/martinet by ALMÉRAS)
3. Jaxon Evans (NZ/Fach Auto Tech)
4. Larry ten Voorde (NL/MRS GT-Racing)
5. Florian Latorre (F/Fach Auto Tech)
6. Tio Ellinas (CY/Momo Megatron Lechner Racing)
7. Jaap van Lagen (NL/martinet by ALMÉRAS)
8. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing)
9. Julien Andlauer (F/BWT Lechner Racing)
10. Mikkel Pedersen (DK/Dinamic Motorsport)

Points standings after 7 of 10 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Julien Andlauer (F/BWT Lechner Racing), 92 points
2. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing), 92 points
3. Ayhancan Güven (TR/martinet by ALMÉRAS), 76 points