19 Overall Victories 1970 Porsche 917 KH
Racing driver: Richard Attwood, Hans Herrmann

Quantum leap
A powerful V12 engine and an extremely light race car: Porsche achieved the first overall victory in Le Mans with a quantum leap
1971 Porsche 917 KH
Racing driver: Dr. Helmut Marko, Gijs van Lennep

Who dares wins
The light magnesium frame of the white 917 short-tail was a daring choice. The engine was more powerful than in the previous year. The record distance of the winners remained unbeaten for decades.
1976 Porsche 936/76
Racing driver: Jacky Ickx, Gijs van Lennep

Turbo triumph
Porsche used a turbo engine in Le Mans for the first time in 1974. Two years later, the 936 Spyder was the first turbo winner in the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Technology transfer from motorsport to series production
Porsche has used turbo-charged engines with charge-air cooling in Le Mans since 1974
1977 Porsche 936/77
Racing driver: Jürgen Barth, Hurley Haywood, Jacky Ickx

Nine laps behind and victory
The race was just one hour old and the Porsche 936/77 Spyder was in 41st place after a repair. 23 hours later, the Spyder crossed the finish line on five cylinders – as the winner.
1979 Porsche 935 K3
Racing driver: Klaus Ludwig, Don Whittington, Bill Whittington

The German Porsche Kremer Racing Team established a milestone with the first win for a Porsche customer and the first success of a rear-engine race car.
1981 Porsche 936/81
Racing driver: Jacky Ickx, Derek Bell

Start of a winning run
The 936 Spyder was already in the museum when Porsche decided to compete in Le Mans. With a new engine and new aerodynamics, the 936/81 started the record series of seven triumphs in succession.
1982 Porsche 956 LH
Racing driver: Jacky Ickx, Derek Bell

Debut win
An experienced and well-functioning team, a proven technology package and revolutionary aerodynamics proved to be an unbeatable combination.

Technology transfer from motorsport to series production
The Motronic system was already used in the 911 Carrera 3.2 in 1983, and the monobloc aluminium brake callipers made a reapperance in the Boxster.
1983 Porsche 956 LH
Racing driver: Al Holbert, Hurley Haywood, Vernon Schuppan

Nine of ten
The Porsche 956 quickly became the most successful prototype. Porsche now also built the race car for customers. The result: victory number eight. And nine 956 cars in the top ten.
1984 Porsche 956 LH
Racing driver: Henri Pescarolo, Klaus Ludwig

First win for customer 956
The Porsche 956 remained the car to beat. Joest Racing won the race, and seven more 956 cars finished in the top ten. The works team did not compete in protest against a change in the rules.
1985 Porsche 956 LH
Racing driver: Paolo Barilla, Klaus Ludwig, John Winter

Works team beaten, Porsche success celebrated
That is also successful customer motorsport: the private Joest Racing Team and the Richard Lloyd Racing Team finished the race ahead of the 962 C of the works team.
1986 Porsche 962 C LH
Racing driver: Derek Bell, Hans-J. Stuck, Al Holbert

That was still missing
The Porsche 962 was almost unbeatable, driving to race victories and championships. And now it also achieved victory in Le Mans.
1987 Porsche 962 C LH
Racing driver: Derek Bell, Hans-J. Stuck, Al Holbert

Reward for a high-risk strategy
After just one hour, there was just one works Porsche 962 C left in the race against very strong British competition. The team decided on a strategy of all-out attack – and triumphed.
1994 Porsche 962 Dauer Le Mans GT
Racing driver: Mauro Baldi, Yannick Dalmas, Hurley Haywood

Renaissance of the 962
The era of the famous Porsche 962 C drew to a close at the end of the 1980s. The former serial winner returned in a Gran Turismo version and won in its only race.
1996 TWR-Porsche WSC Spyder
Racing driver: Manuel Reuter, Alexander Wurz, Davy Jones

Goodbye America, bonjour Le Mans
Porsche designed the TWR-Porsche WSC Spyder for the US, but stopped the programme. Joest Racing borrowed the race car, and Weissach perfected the aerodynamics. The Spyder won.
1997 TWR-Porsche WSC Spyder
Racing driver: Michele Alboreto, Stefan Johansson, Tom Kristensen

Repeat offender
Joest Racing took over the victorious TWR-Porsche WSC Spyder from 1996, invested all its hopes in this one race car, and was again triumphant.
1998 Porsche 911 GT1 ’98
Racing driver: Allan McNish, Stéphane Ortelli, Laurent Aïello

Final sprint and double victory
A race of the century with five works teams on the starting grid. In the final phase, the duel was Porsche against Toyota. The race ended with a double victory for the 911 GT1 ’98.

Technology transfer from motorsport to series production
Like the Le Mans winner from 1998, the Carrera GT from 2003 had a carbon-fibre monocoque.
2015 Porsche 919 Hybrid
Racing driver: Nico Hülkenberg, Earl Bamber, Nick Tandy

Success for avant-garde hybrid
Porsche placed its faith in a unique energy recovery system and competed in the highest efficiency class. Two 919 Hybrid cars finished the race at the front.

Technology transfer from motorsport to series production
Whether hybrid or all-electric sports cars: they all have the DNA of the triple Le Mans winner.
2016 Porsche 919 Hybrid
Racing driver: Romain Dumas, Neel Jani, Marc Lieb

First place after continuous battle
There was nothing to separate Porsche and Toyota for 23 hours, 56 minutes and 35 seconds. The Japanese car then came to a stop. The Porsche 919 Hybrid won the race.
2017 Porsche 919 Hybrid
Racing driver: Earl Bamber, Timo Berhnard, Brendon Hartley

Not for weak nerves
On early Sunday morning, one of the two 919 Hybrid cars was forced to retire while in the lead. The other started an unbelievable chase through the field from 56th place. It ended with the 19th overall victory in Le Mans.