Main navigation

October - December

Walter Röhrl Wins Costa Brava RallyFour-Times Monte Carlo Winner Dominates European Championship Race

Stuttgart. Walter Röhrl has won the race for the FIA European Rally Championship for Historical Cars in the Spanish town of Lloret de Mar last weekend. Teaming up with co-pilot Peter Göbel, German Rally Champion in 2002, 2004, 2005, and 2006, the two-times World Rally Champion drove a 1981 Porsche 911 RSR to victory. With their re-built and perfectly prepared rally version of the 911, Röhrl/Göbel immediately moved up to the top group in the race, together with ex-Renault works driver Jean Ragnotti in an Alpine A110, Historical European Champion-
ship specialist Michael Stoschek, Valter Jensen and Toto Riolo, all driving a Porsche 911, and three Group 4 Lancia Stratos. Under very difficult weather and track conditions, Röhrl clearly demonstrated his unique driving skills as the four-times Monte Carlo winner on the last two stages of the race, bringing home an historical victory for Wolfgang Reile’s Classic Power Team in the very special style of the truly outstanding driver who also won the European Rally Championship in 1974.


Results Rally Costa Brava Historic:

1. Röhrl/Göbel Porsche 911 RSR 1.26,27.2
2. Brazzoli/Valmassol Porsche 911 SC + 02,45.9
3. Font/Moreno Ford Escort RS + 03,46.3


Note: Images of Walter Röhrl are available to accredited journalists in the Porsche Press Database at http://presse.porsche.de/.