Main navigation
Porsche - Le Mans 24 Hours

Le Mans 24 Hours

The toughest automobile race in the world

Le Mans is a legend. The classic of all long distance races is the greatest challenge that motorsport has to offer. The 13.65 kilometre "Circuit des 24 Heures", one of the world’s oldest and fastest race tracks, is unique, with 75 percent of a lap taken at full throttle.

To win here you need a quick and reliable car, the best pilots and, of course, a highly experienced pit crew. In the history of the Le Mans 24 hour race, Porsche is by far the most successful manufacturer. Hans Hermann and Richard Attwood clinched the first overall victory for Porsche in 1970 at the wheel of a 917 short-tail. Their success paved the way for Porsche to secure another 15 overall wins and to take its place at the top of the winners’ list, with Ferrari (9 wins) and Audi (7 wins) following far behind. With four wins each, Jacky Ickx and Derek Bell are the most successful Porsche pilots in Le Mans. Porsche also holds the track record set by Jackie Oliver in 1971 in qualifying on pole position:

With the Porsche 917 long-tail coupé, he lapped the then 13.469 km circuit in 3:13.9 minutes – that’s an average speed of 250.069 kph. With the RS Spyder, Porsche returned to Le Mans in 2008 and celebrated its debut with a double victory in the LMP2 class. Last year as well, the sports prototype from Weissach won again. Moreover, thanks to its excellent overall efficiency, it clinched the environmental ‘Michelin Green X Challenge’ title.