Navigation principale
Porsche - World Endurance Championship
Porsche - World Endurance Championship
Porsche - World Endurance Championship

World Endurance Championship

The World Endurance Championship (WEC) is a new event organised by the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) and sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA). It is staged according to the rules of 24 Hours of Le Mans for LMP and GTE vehicles. There are eight races on the calendar in the 2013 season.

Points are awarded based on the following system to the ten best-placed drivers and manufacturers in all races except the 24 Hours of Le Mans: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1. Each driver who finishes the race after the top ten is awarded half a point. Points are also distributed in this way for teams and manufacturers in each class. The points system for Le Mans is as follows: 50-36-30-24-20-16-12-8-4-2 plus a point for each driver who finishes after this group.

The World Endurance Championship features sports prototypes and GT cars. They are divided into four different classes, which start together, but are rated separately.

LM GTE Pro class
This class consists of slightly modified production Sports Cars with 440 to 500 hp and a minimum weight of 1,245 kg (e.g. Porsche 911 GT3 RSR).

LM GTE Am class
Same as LM GTE Pro, except that only one professional racing driver, as defined by the rules, is allowed per team.

LMP1 class
Sports prototypes with up to 550 hp and a minimum weight of 900 kg.

LMP2 class
Sports prototypes with approx. 440 hp and a minimum weight of 900 kg.