Navigation principale
Porsche - Nürburgring 24 Hours
Porsche - Nürburgring 24 Hours
Porsche - Nürburgring 24 Hours

Nürburgring 24 Hours

The 24 hour race on the legendary Nordschleife of the Nürburgring counts as one of the greatest motorsport events in the world. Over 220,000 spectators make the pilgrimage to the Eifel region every year. Most of them pitch their tents beside the track to get as close as possible to the action. For this, however, they're happy to forego the comforts of electricity and running water and instead celebrate this unique motorsport party with an abundance of imagination and improvisation.

This race draws it particular flair from the 25.378 kilometre circuit (Grand Prix circuit plus northern loop) as well as the fascinating potpourri of professional and amateur racers. Amazingly, the grid line-up regularly hosts a good 200 vehicles, in which around 800 pilots share driving duties over the 24 hours. One of the keys to success is the flexibility of the regulations that allows practically all vehicles that fulfil safety standards to compete.

Hans-Joachim Stuck won the inaugural event in 1970. Niki Lauda joined the winners' list in 1973. And in 1976, Fritz Müller, Herbert Hechler and Karl-Heinz Quirin brought home Porsche's first overall victory with a 911 Carrera. Over the years, an increasing number of automobile manufacturers have taken up the challenge of this race in which there is no safety car phase: In the event of storms or other unusual situations the race is halted at the finish line.

With another triumph for Porsche, the 2011 Nürburgring 24 hour race came to an end. After 156 laps and a new distance record set with 3,958.968 kilometres on the legendary Nordschleife, Porsche works drivers Marc Lieb, Timo Bernhard and Romain Dumas together with Lucas Luhr won with the Porsche 911 GT3 RSR fielded by Manthey Racing.

For Porsche and Manthey Racing, this marks the fifth common victory in the last years at the long distance classic in Germany’s Eifel region. For Porsche it’s the eleventh victory at the traditional race overall.

Porsche wins at the Nürburgring 24 Hours

Year Drivers Vehicle
2011 Marc Lieb / Timo Bernhard /
Romain Dumas / Lucas Luhr
911 GT3 RSR
2009 Marc Lieb / Timo Bernhard /
Romain Dumas / Marcel Tiemann
911 GT3 RSR
2008 Marc Lieb / Timo Bernhard /
Romain Dumas / Marcel Tiemann
911 GT3 RSR
2007 Marc Lieb / Timo Bernhard /
Romain Dumas / Marcel Tiemann
911 GT3 RSR
2006 Lucas Luhr / Timo Bernhard /
Mike Rockenfeller / Marcel Tiemann
911 GT3-MR
2000 Bernd Mayländer / Michael Bartels /
Uwe Alzen / Altfrid Heger
911 GT3 R
1993 Antonio de Azevedo / Franz Konrad /
Örnulf Wirdheim / Frank Katthöfer
911 Carrera
1988 Edgar Dören / Gerhard Holup /
Peter Faubel
911 Carrera
1978 Fritz Müller / Herbert Hechler /
Franz Geschwendtner
911 Carrera
1977 Fritz Müller / Herbert Hechler 911 Carrera
1976 Fritz Müller / Herbert Hechler /
Karl-Heinz Quirin
911 Carrera

Race Date 2015
16-17/05/2015 ADAC Zurich 24-Hour Race